The Light of Dawn

October 6, 2009

I’ve been spending more time with my Death Knight alt in the past few days. I find her easier to pick up than Tornik, my Druid. I also played my Forsaken Priest as well, which was fun and easy, but I missed my guildies, so back to my DK.

I’d rolled her up shortly after Wrath came out just to see what all the fuss was about, but only really played her for a couple of levels. I went back and had another look, and decided to at least push her through to the end of the DK starter zone and watch the showdown at Light’s Hope Chapel, which I was a little underwhelmed with actually.

It’s probably partly due to the whole thing being hyped up so much by so many people, that the chances were it couldn’t help but fail to live up to my expectations. It also feels like Blizzard tried to shoehorn a dramatic, emotional moment and fundamental altering of (or at least addition to) in-game lore. The voice acting is superb, and I love the voice of guy who does Tirion Fordring, but for all the weight behind the events, it’s simply not carried over to the models of the in-game characters.

There’s no dynamism, no movement and no sense of emotion from the characters. There’s a point where Darion Mograine (or the shade of his past) hugs his father, and the only reason we know this is because of the emote in chat, “Darion hugs his father.” Woah. Feeling the love there, srsly.

Compare that with the cinematic for the Wrathgate. That event is arguably no more or less important than the Death Knights freeing themselves from the Lich King and adding their weight to the fight, and yet it’s handled much better. I can understand that it’s an event Blizzard may not have wanted to ruin somehow by unforseen bugs, so they took it right of the players hands and essentially faded to black as you finish the quest – but to do that for one and not both feels like a bit of a misfire to me.

Once the cut-scene at Light’s Hope kicks in, you’re pretty much stuck watching events unfold in front of you anyway, so why not go the whole hog and do a cinematic? Fade to black, play the scene, then dump the PC back in Acherus – it’s not like you can interact with the NPCs at Light’s Hope afterwards anyway.

Maybe Blizzard felt that players didn’t deserve something that cool so early in their character’s career, maybe they felt that to hand out something as epic as that, then have the player just carry on levelling would be jarring or a bit of a letdown. I don’t know. What I do know is that, for as good as the showdown with Arthas was, I cant help but be left with the feeling that it could have been done better.

Damn, and this post was supposed to be about levelling up DK trade skills.

3 Responses to “The Light of Dawn”


  1. [...] Musings compares The Light of Dawn and the Wrath Gate. Which do you think was the better event? Click here to submit a link to [...]


  2. [...] Musings compares The Light of Dawn and the Wrath Gate. Which do you think was the better event? Click here to submit a link to TDQ Filed under: The [...]


  3. [...] Musings compares The Light of Dawn and the Wrath Gate. Which do you think was the better event? Click here to submit a link to [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

